Humane Resourced – I’m retiring

So today I’m sitting down to draw together the final submissions for the next Humane Resourced book. If you still haven’t got your chapter to me then please make sure you get it to me as soon as you can. The last one is still available here 

I’ve been useless resisting temptation with this book and as a result I keep extending the deadline. I extend it as really interesting people keep saying ‘if I got a chapter to you by….‘ and I keep giving in. From this point onwards I’m driving towards getting everything finished by the end of this month. 

I’ve had chapters piling up in my inbox and in a genuine ‘amateur hour’ effort I’m now having to trawl through 3 months worth of email to attempt to what people have contributed. It serves me right for being a fool.

Anyway – that isn’t the point of this post. The point of this post is to offer someone an opportunity to take coordination of, what in a few weeks,will be a series of HR books (hopefully #1 in the US and UK) and turn it into something better.

After I’ve done this volume I’ll be handing over the baton to someone else. I don’t know who yet – if you are interested then just put up your hand. If you aren’t then please share this post in case it lands in the inbox of someone who is.

Why am I giving it up?

I’m giving it up as I simply never expected the book to be a success. The idea for the first book was genuinely about people being able to wave a Kindle in front of their family at Christmas and say ‘LOOK, I GOT PUBLISHED’. It went on to be quite successful which had a number of unanticipated side effects

  • it gave me an undoubted PR boost that I hadn’t planned for
  • it gave me an uncomfortable feeling that I was getting an undoubted PR boost for effectively showcasing other people’s work
  • it gave me a sense of responsibility for something bigger than myself that I hadn’t factored in
  • it was really cool to be at the heart of it and people were really nice about it (nothing bad with that side effect)
  • it gave me an incredible network and opportunity

Those people who really know me are aware how uncomfortable some of the above things were for me. I’m all about intent and motive – and sometimes where the book stopped and where my personal profile started became quite blurred, both for others and for me. I appreciate everyone who tried to reassure me that  it wasn’t a problem, but in the end we all get to decide how comfortable we are with lines blurring. I’ve got a low threshold.

So I’m giving it all up and letting someone else run with it. I’m probably going to write my own book at some point and I’d feel really uncomfortable if this series looks like a vehicle for that. 

What does the job look like

  • totally unpaid – in fact I’m $30 down so far
  • irregular hours
  • part helpdesk/part coach/part admin – but at the centre of some really cool folk
  • the ability to read brilliant content before anyone else
  • people treating you like you know what you are doing (when you are really making things up as you go along)
  • the chance to showcase other people’s work – which I’ve loved
  • the ability to build on some really lucky groundwork
  • a chance to get feedback from readers and writers that you’ve helped make a difference
  • as much support as you need from me
  • a chance to get interviewed on the BBC sofa by Ian Pettigrew (that may not always happen)

If you would be interested in a job like that then please get in touch. Otherwise – please share.

And thanks to everyone that I’ve got to meet with through the book – you are an incredible crop of people to know.

Image

8 thoughts on “Humane Resourced – I’m retiring

  1. David, good to hear you are just retiring from co-ordination, and not inspiration… I very much enjoy your thinking and writing style… and i will look forward to the next D’ Souza book… if you haven’t already read or follwed Macolm Gladwell’s work, which i am sure you have… your work reminds me of his… (from me, that is a big complement btw)… For me Gladwell is first a gatherer of great thoughts then a collator and publisher – he is somone who never stopped himself by waiting for the single ‘ big book idea’… he simply weaved his half connected thoughts together… Best of luck with HR Resourced 2. If you are looking for any final fillers, I will send you a couple of thoughts through (‘ How to steer the boat’ /’changing pains’ or what colour is your black belt’ might fill a page or two for you, if you need them).. I really resonate with your thought share v profile build inner debate…the former being energising, the latter quite hollow… IMHO, you have the balance. Best of luck in your next chapter 🙂 Carl Fitzsimons

    • Hi Carl, I’m a big Gladwell fan (slightly disappointed in the last book though) and whilst he has his detractors I’ll take a comparison to him as a highlight of my year. I love the black belt piece so I’d love to share that. Do you have my email address? Have a great week. David

  2. I’m really glad to have had the opportunity to contribute to the second book so that one day I can say “yes, I did it back when David was still in charge you know”, a bit like those folk that saw The Beatles at that Cavern place.
    Thank you for starting something cool. I’m looking forward to that lunch soon.
    @NHSE_PaulT off Twitter

Leave a Reply

